Minutes Silver Jackets Georgia Tech Retirees Association

Tuesday, November 11, 2008 11:00 am Room 321, Georgia Tech Student Center

Respectfully submitted by: Mary Anne Salter

Attendees: Dave Clifton, Patricia Davis, Eleanor S. Dixon and husband, Sara Dryden, Carole Gaines, James Garner, Maureen Glass, Jamie Goode, Jerry Hitt, Wayne Jones, Bill Leslie, Jeane McKown, Gene Patronis, Roger Rupnow and wife, Mary Anne Salter, Annette Satterfield, Mathew Sikorski, Sandra Thornton, Carolyn Chestnue Thorsen, Ward Winer, Ruth Anne Foote, Gus Giebelhaus

Maureen Glass welcomed everyone and asked that the new attendees introduce themselves. Sandra Thornton introduced our guest speaker, Dr. Gus Giebelhaus, Professor, History, Technology and Society. Dr. Giebelhaus has been with GT since 1976 and is the co-author of a book ""Engineering the New South: Georgia Tech, 1885-1985 which covers the Crecine/Clough years. He is making a special appearance at the opera by John Adams "Dr. Atomic" on 11/21 &23. He gave a general overview today on GT history and traditions. His talk began with telling all a little about each person who had influence on starting the school – those included Benjamin Hill in 1871, Henry Grady who encouraged folks to come south and invest, John Hanson and Nat Harris who pushed the idea for a technological school to be located in Macon, and Richard Peters (1889) who made land available (now "Peters Park" named for him).

The first president of GT, Isaac S. Hopkins (1888-1896) was an Emory College president previously, a Methodist minister, who had shop class experience. He was the first president who was an engineer.

The second president, Lyman Hall (1896-1905) was a mathematician who died in 1906 of scarlet fever. During his service, Leonard Wood started the football program in 1893 and there was a fire in the shop building (1894).

The third president, Kenneth Matheson, an English teacher (1906-22) was remembered for starting the evening division (1908) and the coop program in 1912. During his service, William Emerson was dean of all the schools, John Heisman was the first football coach 1904-1919 and brought GT to the first national champion status. Later years were 1928, 1952 & 1990.

The fourth president was M. L. Brittain (1922-1944). His greatest accomplishment was obtaining the Guggenheim grant for Aerospace Engineering and starting the Engineering Experiment Station in the 1930's with Harry Vaughn being the first director.

The fifth president was Blake Van Leer (1944-1956). Under his leadership, Dorothy Crosland became the director of the library and helped with admitting women to Georgia Tech. One of the first women who graduated from GT was Shirley Mewborn. John Hyder coached the Basketball Team in the 1950's.

The sixth president, Edwin D. Harrison (1957-1969) integrated GT in 1961. George C. Griffen was Dean (1946-1964).

The seventh president was Art Hansen who only stayed from 1969-1971 afterwards leaving GT for Purdue.

The eighth president, Joseph M. Pettit (1971-1986) brought graduate education and research. A few names mentioned were Tom Stelson, VP for Research and William Sangster, Dean Engineering College. Homer Rice was Athletic Director from 1980-1997. Bobby Cremins was the basketball coach in the 80's & 90's. The Engineering Experiment Station became GTRI.

J. Patrick Crecine was the ninth President (1987-1994). He brought the Olympics to GT along with the Campanile at the Student Center. He also gave us the West Campus Dorms and the Performing Arts at the Ferst Center. GT Lorraine was also started under Dr. Crecine. Bobby Ross was the coach who brought us to the National Championship in football in 1990.

Our tenth President, G. Wayne Clough (1994-2008) had previously been at Berkley, Stanford and Duke and was a native of Georgia and a GT graduate. He brought undergraduate research, the Ivan Allen College and Sam Num International Affairs, the MARC, BEM Complex, Technology Square and the NanoTechnology Building. Coach Paul Hewitt brought GT basketball to it's 2nd Final Four. Coach Danny Hall brought baseball to the World Series and the GT Women were Tennis Champs in 2007. Dan Radokovich began as the new athletic director. Provost Jean-Lou Chameau left for Cal Tech in the summer of 2006. The Whistle got it's highest news rank in August 2007. Dr. Clough stepped down to become the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institute in Washington, D.C. Gary Schuster becomes Provost and Acting President.

Dr. Geibelhaus winds up his program by telling two more short football stories.

Sandra Thornton announces that we will vote in new officers in January. Gene Patronis, Les Petherick and Carol Gaines will make up the Nominating Committee and will accept nominations. Jeanne McKown suggested us having a different day to hold the meetings instead of on Tuesday's. Sandra said that amendments could be voted on and made to the by-laws. Dave Clifton suggested leaving it "as is" for now. The By-Laws were accepted with one opposed.

Maureen reminded all of the Holiday Luncheon on December 5th at the Tech Hotel. She added that we were in need of a web site and webmaster, could anyone help with this?

Next meeting is January 13, 2009 in Room 343 of the Student Center.